Skip Navigation

2018 Magis Awards


Cheverus High School stands for much more than academic achievement, athletics and extracurricular activities. Cheverus follows the Jesuit tradition which calls for the pursuit of excellence for the purpose of more fully becoming a “person for and with others.” When Jesuits and those familiar with Ignatian tradition identify this pursuit of excellence, they use the word magis, a Latin word meaning “more.” The choice of this word is to dramatize the Ignatian ideal that one can always do more to serve others and God.

Every other year, Cheverus recognizes those in its community who live according to the imperative represented by the word magis. The Magis Award honors those who have achieved excellence as “people for and with others.” Award winners may be priests, teachers, volunteers with the sick or poor or might have spent their entire lives with the needy in a foreign country. They might be counselors, nurses, or doctors, or they might also be business owners who recognize the dignity of their employees, lawyers who defend the powerless, or philanthropists who give their fortunes to the needy and helpless. Regardless of what careers they have chosen, their lives must demonstrate that they have acted as “people for and with others” at the highest level.

Save the Date for the 2018 Magis Awards:


Thursday, April 5, 2018
Cheverus High School


6:00 p.m.  -- Cocktail Reception with cash bar
7:00 p.m. -- Awards Ceremony


We are pleased to honor:

Peggy A. Cianchette

Parent '02, '06, '07, '10
Current & Former Trustee

William G. Downes

Class of 1947

Kyle J. Milliken*

Class of 1998

Richard "Dickie" M. Nee*

Class of 1976;
Parent '02, '04, '07, '09, '11

David D. Pearce

Class of 1968

* in memoriam

RSVP by Thursday, March 29 to Christine Martin, Director of Special Events ( | 207-774-6238 x113)

Magis Award Honoress


  • Dr. Leo J. McDermott, Class of 1925
  • Dr. Stanley R. Liberty, Class of 1961
  • James A Ward, Class of 1963
  • Mary T. Honan, Former Board of Trustees
  • Mark D. LaPointe, Class of 1959
  • Maj. Charles J. Loring*, Class of 1937
  • Kevin J. Haley, Class of 1987
  • John M. Kerry, Class of 1982
  • John E. Marston, Class of 1965
  • Dr. Patrick H. Rombalski, Class of 1982
  • Stephen D. Goudey*, Class of 1970 
  • Earle E. Hannigan, Class of 1953
  • Daniel J. Honan, Class of 1978
  • Arthur B. Ledue, Class of 1950
  • Timothy E. Burton, Class of 1977
  • Richard M. Charette, Class of 1965
  • Francis E. Myatt, Class of 1953
  • Robert S. Nanovic, Board of Trustees 
  • John J. O’Leary*, Class of 1965
  • Kevin W. Concannon, Class of 1959
  • Joseph F. Boulos, Class of 1964
  • Stephen A. Barber, Class of 1973
  • Mary E. Campbell, Teacher
  • Anthony “Pat” Carey, Class of 1966
  • Steve Jerome, Class of 1967
  • Edward Leo Manning, Class of 1941
  • Michael J. Tarpinian, Class of 1969


* deceased

Academic Excellence in the Jesuit Tradition