Skip Navigation



About the Magis Award

Cheverus High School stands for much more than academic achievement, athletics, and extracurricular activities. Cheverus follows the Jesuit tradition which calls for the pursuit of excellence for the purpose of more fully becoming a “person for and with others.” When Jesuits and those familiar with Ignatian tradition identify this pursuit of excellence, they use the word magis, a Latin word meaning “more.” The choice of this word exemplifies the Ignatian ideal that one can always do more to serve others and God.

Every other year, Cheverus recognizes those in its community who live according to the imperative represented by the word magis. The Magis Award honors those who have achieved excellence as “people for and with others.” Award winners may be priests, teachers, volunteers with the sick or poor or might have spent their entire lives with the needy in a foreign country. They might be counselors, nurses, or doctors, or they might also be business owners who recognize the dignity of their employees, lawyers who defend the powerless, or philanthropists who give their fortunes to the needy and helpless. Regardless of what careers they have chosen, their lives must demonstrate that they have acted as “people for and with others” at the highest level.

To qualify to receive a Magis Award, nominees must be a current or former Cheverus faculty or staff member, a former board member or an alumnus/alumna.

Click here to view a list of previous Magis Award Winners

Susan Van Wyck P ’01, ’03, ’05


Peter Millard MD, PhD '72


Gary Hoyt P '99


Greg Szkarlat



2024 Magis Awards Ceremony

6:00 p.m. Doors Open
6:30 p.m. Ceremony Begins

A cocktail reception will follow the ceremony. Business attire.

Kindly RSVP by Wednesday, April 16, 2024

RSVP: or, 207.774.6238 ext 112
Thursday, April 25

Hannaford Hall

at the University of Southern Maine
88 Bedford St., Portland, ME 04101